Like Me in Every Way…It’s the Difference that Makes the Similarities Possible

Today I am thinking about how Jesus is like me spiritually. This is a tough one for me. How is Jesus like me in spirit? It seems impossible, like when you see a quality in someone you admire and just know you’ll never be like them in that way. My efforts to understand my Savior come to a screeching halt here. So I do what I always to when I am trying to sort through an idea or a task. I make a list.

What is Jesus like, spiritually, in character, not ability?

Jesus converses with God for strength and refreshment.  Just think of the times God chooses to remind us that His Son needed to remove Himself from the crowds and quiet Himself to commune with the Father. He emptied Himself of the demands of daily life, or daunting tasks, and filled Himself up by heart-sharing with the Father, in order to face the next onslaught of life. I know I am like that, too. I need to break away from work and family, noise and busyness in order to refresh. I do this by clinging to God in prayer. Like Jesus.

Jesus is empowered by the Spirit of God, which fills Him up.  Jesus is full of the Holy Spirit.  Have I not also been given the very same Spirit?  Full. Topped off. Never lacking. God’s Guide and Comforter inside me! Like Jesus.

Jesus lives with the Father and the Spirit.  John records this wonderful truth: If a man loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him  … I am in the Father and The Father in me…I go and prepare a place for you, …where I am you may be also. This is a dwelling place not made with human hands. The wonderful truth is, I have the same mailing address as Jesus!

Jesus is the Son of God, and therefore His heir of all that He is and offers. So am I! I have been given an eternal inheritance of home and privilege. Like Jesus.

The one sticking point that is the hardest for my small mind to understand is…

How can the truth about Jesus be that He was made like us in every respect and in every way has been tempted as we are, yet without sin? How is that like me? The second part certainly isn’t. Scripture gives us examples of Jesus temptation, though does not reveal a lifetime of specifics. God has determined that we don’t need to know all the spiritual battles of temptation Jesus suffered. It is enough to know that His flesh, ego, and loyalty were tested. And really, can’t all sin be placed into one of those categories?

Like me in every way. Like all of humanity in every way. The critical difference is He remained pure and victorious over sin. But while we humans allow our differences to separate us, this one, holy difference, is what makes it possible for us to live with all of the similarities.

So today I am rejoicing in how Jesus, the One who mediates for me in Heaven, completely understands me because of how we are alike. If this great truth is true for me, then it is true for everyone.

So I am also rejoicing in the one, huge difference that makes all the rest possible.

Luke 4:1 Acts 2:38 Romans 8:9ff Romans 8:15-17

About An Earthen Vessel--Terri Apgar

Wife of one, mother of three, so grateful for God's grace--that's me. I'm just tucked into my bay window, opening my heart to God and trying to be brave about letting Him use all that He has crafted inside me to His glory.
This entry was posted in Facing Jesus, The Walk, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

