Missing the Obvious

I am wondering today if I am paying careful attention, if I am seeing all God intends me to see in this day, this moment.

I have come to learn, that lying just beneath the surface of what is physically apparent, God often plants His vine of Truth. God’s whisper moves here—a constant pulse of life and promise and connection to Him.

Sometimes, I miss it. It should be obvious to me, but sometimes I miss the obvious, because I am focused on the surface–the immediate apparent– though it’s really just the first layer of something deeper.

There are days when I laugh at confused spouse who rummages through cabinet in search of something and raises incredulous eyes as I open door, reach in, and find it right away. How could he not see? I ask myself. It was obvious!

And yet…

How often do I miss what should be obvious? What lessons is God laying before me, planting right in front of me, that I miss?

The disciples missed it.

After witnessing countless miracles, and particularly the five thousand fed on a few loaves and fish, they were soon confronted again with a lack of resources to feed a desperate crowd. “Where will we get bread enough in the desert to feed so great a crowd?” How could they have missed that great lesson-that He would fully take care of them, by providing both the spiritual and physical nourishment they and others needed, despite the clear lacking of supplies? 

Soon after, the same faithful followers “failed to perceive” that Jesus did not speak of bread when He said ‘Beware the leaven of the Pharisees and Sadducees’, but of misplaced zeal and prideful teaching, and errors of interpretation.  They missed the lessons beyond what laid at hand. Matthew 15:29-16:20

I, with nearly two thousand years of hindsight, can clearly see God’s spiritual work in the physical, as recorded by those first disciples. I see their lessons. 

What beckons greater reflection is,

                                                                            do I see mine?

The Pharisees and Sadducees understood the apparent, but missed what was more important.  They could interpret signs of the sky for weather, based upon long-standing observation, yet could not make the connection between their heritage of prophecy and the living Christ before them.

So the question I must ask myself, is do I fall into the same trap? Am I so numbed by the Attacker’s ability to veil what is important by distracting me with what is immediate and surface-level, do I neglect the history God has with mankind and me and skip some soul-lifting, saving lessons? Lessons He has placed in my life as signposts to Him? Do I ever doubt the care with which God will hold my life and these moments?

And the moments He holds…are they not the

                            Parenting moments                                Marriage moments

                                        Working moments                             Serving moments

                                                  Playing moments                Relationship moments

                                                                  Worshipping moments

Stepping out on faith and new opportunity moments?

When there is no clearly apparent store of rescue or strength or wisdom, will I remember the lessons I’ve already been taught? Will I pay attention to the new ones and look beyond the first glance? Will I maximize the opportunities I have to be taught through others’ experiences?

What  have learned, today,  is

He will always provide. Every single time. Even during three days out hunger-on-a-hill times, or the seasons of ‘here we go again– this task is too big for me’ times.

Reflection on our life with Him and others is the link to building faith and understanding how to take steps in my future. Take stock of the past, and the past of others, and remember how faithful He has been, how He’s worked with little and accomplished much. Remember the intricacies of His plan, and the promises that we can stake a life upon.

And always, pay attention.

Hebrews 11

No distrust made him waver concerning the promise of God, but he grew strong in his faith as he gave glory to God, fully convinced that God was able to do what he had promised. Romans 4:20,21

He who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will supply and multiply your resources and increase the harvest of your righteousness. 2 Corinthians 9:10

 

About An Earthen Vessel--Terri Apgar

Wife of one, mother of three, so grateful for God's grace--that's me. I'm just tucked into my bay window, opening my heart to God and trying to be brave about letting Him use all that He has crafted inside me to His glory.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

