This Morning is for Stretching

The air is damp, the crickets’ song steady, and the rooster is happy as usual while the grey veil of night lingers before day.

It is in this quiet spot, I am leaning toward my Maker, seeking to affirm His presence, seeking to discern His will.

100_8981

I borrow the words of David,

Hear my prayer, O Lord,
Give ear to my supplications!
Answer me in Your faithfulness, in Your righteousness!

He is, indeed faithful. I know this because He has proven Himself over and over again. Therefore

I remember the days of old;
I meditate on all Your doings;
I muse on the work of Your hands.

 I stretch out my hands to You;
My soul longs for You, as a parched land.

This morning is for stretching.

I stretch out my hands to You, Oh, LORD, my God, and feel You meet them. Here on this porch, You take my hands and quiet my heart. This moment is not for knowing. It is not for figuring out this life season’s mission. I must lay down this striving, this forcing of fruit to be born.

This moment is for dwelling in your holy Presence, acknowledging and receiving Your love. Feeding my trust in You.

In the battle against Distraction, the frustration of never reclaiming ground is draining. My back is braced, my feet dug in, I strive against the rock, and the surrounding arrows that flame up and draw my eyes away.

Let me hear Your lovingkindness in the morning;
For I trust in You;
Teach me the way in which I should walk;
For to You I lift up my soul.
Deliver me, O Lord, from my enemies;
I take refuge in You. 100_8955

Teach me to do Your will,
For You are my God;
Let Your good Spirit lead me on level ground.

 And if my Enemy be my own self, deliver me still.

Help me receive Your teaching.

For I am Your servant.

Thank You, dear LORD, for this moments, for merciful patience, and Your trustworthy wisdom.

Be blessed, Dear Ones, as you stretch today. Remember He has your hands in His.

All verses selected from Psalm 143 (NIV)

About An Earthen Vessel--Terri Apgar

Wife of one, mother of three, so grateful for God's grace--that's me. I'm just tucked into my bay window, opening my heart to God and trying to be brave about letting Him use all that He has crafted inside me to His glory.
This entry was posted in Deflecting the Weapon of Discouragement, Distraction, Spiritual Drought, Spiritual Transformation, The Walk, Trials, Uncategorized, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

