On Joining God on an Adventure

I am never disappointed when I turn to God’s face and listen to His words. Never.

He never says anything that unexpectedly veers from His character. His words are as reassuring as they are familiar.

With some people, their annoying habit of repeating essentially the same conversation over and over again whenever we meet, grates on every last nerve, and makes me doubt that there is vitality in the relationship. With God, it is the opposite. I count on His unchangeable Truths. I need them repeated to me, as a familiar and comforting lullaby of love from parent to child.

He even surprises me upon occasion by guiding my soul deeper into the layers of His love and purpose. That usually occurs right smack in the middle of what I thought I was Front Door 1familiar ground. It is a little like walking down a familiar street with an old friend or kindred spirit—well, better yet, a trusted mentor. We pass all the interesting doors and nooks we’ve passed before. While we amble, we grab the cloaks of comfort from each one, reminiscing about their blessings of love, laughter, and growth in hardship. Then we discover a secret passageway or hidden basement that we had never before noticed, and we explore it together. The twist is, when I occasion to look over my shoulder at Him, I see that He knew this adventure was here all along. He was just waiting to show me when I was ready to enjoy it fully along with Him.

How sweet are your words to my taste,
sweeter than honey to my mouth! Psalm 119:103 (NIV)Door latch

I meditate on your precepts
and consider your ways.

I delight in your decrees;
I will not neglect your word. Psalm 119:15,16 (NIV)

 

About An Earthen Vessel--Terri Apgar

Wife of one, mother of three, so grateful for God's grace--that's me. I'm just tucked into my bay window, opening my heart to God and trying to be brave about letting Him use all that He has crafted inside me to His glory.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Transformation, Studying God's Word, The Walk, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

