Restablishing the Awe

I’m falling in love again. I just thought I’d mention it.  Heart Hands TApgar 2011
Whenever I find myself not quite focused spiritually, not quite in daily sync with God–whenever His calls of faith and service become muffled by life’s responsibilities, distractions, or religious controversy–I go back to Jesus, and fall in love all over again. I remember Who He is, and Whose I am. I strip down my faith to its core–Jesus, the Son of God, my Redeemer.
I have recently committed myself to a journey with Jesus through the apostle John’s eyes, and to get to know Him all over again.

In the hustle and bustle of life, and straining under the stress of church family stretched thin, I feel like I have completely lost my focus. Each morning, I stand convicted of God’s truth and He awakens my desire to serve, and as soon as I close the front door behind me, my brain and energy are pulled elsewhere. Evening arrives and nothing has changed. Feeling like my devotions have been scattered and without direction, I haven’t been writing or sharing regularly. The desire and intention is there, but ‘things’ seem to be getting in the way. I feel burdened by work demands on most of my time at home.

There are always seasons like this. I’ve been here before. I venture to say, you have also. I know I should be taking action, DOING something, putting feet on my faith–not for me, but for Jesus and the humanity that He loves and died for.

I am stuck in inertia, bound by the ties of work and other life demands.

So, I go where I always go, where we MUST go, to reestablish direction and power. To Jesus. I have committed to joining John in the coming weeks, which is, of course, living with a close eye on Jesus. I will walk at His side, with the purpose of letting the Spirit continue His work in me, guiding me to reflect Him more where I am.

Off  I go to Jerusalem and the surrounding area! I am drawing near, and will scoot aside on the path for anyone who wants to join me.

John makes it easy for me to hear God’s calling. He helps me reestablish the awe. The awe calls my heart to praise and action, as it is convicted of God’s holiness and purpose not only for me, but for all mankind. It is this awe, in God’s power and plan and redeeming love that massages my heart and prepares my feet.

John 1

I always knew it. I knew it while walking in the woods. I knew it while standing ankle-deep in pulsing ocean waves. I knew it while trekking across lava fields. I knew it when nose-to-nose with singular snowflakes caught upon my mitten, as I marveled at their unique beauty.  Daffodils TApgar 2013

Even at work, as I coach my little ones through a study of animals diverse and fascinating, unlike anything outside our front doors, I know it.

He was there. He IS here. And the natural world declares His character and creativity.

In the beginning was the Word (the Reason!), and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  He was in the beginning with God; all things were made through Him, and without Him was not anything made that was made.   John 1:1-3

He was in the world, and the world was made through Him… v. 10

…for in Him all things were created, in heaven and on earth, visible, and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or principalities or authorities—all things were created through Him and for Him.  Col. 1:16

…in these last days he has spoken to us by a Son, whom he appointed the heir of all things, through whom also he created the world.  He reflects the glory of God and bears the very stamp of his nature, upholding the universe by his word of power. Heb. 1:2,3

…for it is fitting that he, for whom and by whom all things exist… Heb. 2:10

This is the one Truth that can be known and spread without special training or confidence. It doesn’t require weeks of language study to be shared cross-culturally. No age or stage, physical or mental attribute is required.

The HEAVENS declare the glory of God and the firmament His handiwork, the skies proclaim the work of his hands! Psalm 19:1 NIV

What is it, exactly, that the heavens declare? What glory is this?

God is mighty!

God is powerful! Clouds rays and farm

God is exacting, and detail-oriented. He does care deeply about the details of our lives, not just the sweeping generalizations of another saved soul.

There is no one region in particular that He loves more. Deserts, canyons, ocean depths, grassy knolls, deep woods, lush rainforests—they all receive His care. How’s THAT for a wonderful metaphor of Jesus’ view of our souls?!

Today’s “Take Aways”…
Pay attention to the way the natural world works together. Notice the intricacies and grandeur of nature and absorb them. Revel in their taste, their texture, their colors. Notice them not only for the beauty and power themselves, but for the character of Jesus they reflect. Remember, that’s OUR Jesus!

Remember that all creation declares His love of contrast and uniqueness. We don’t have to look like, or serve like, or be like any other of His children in order to reflect Him. His power and majesty is cast forth through Him working in all our differences.

Be blessed. See Him in everything. Butterfly1 TApgar 2013

 

 

About An Earthen Vessel--Terri Apgar

Wife of one, mother of three, so grateful for God's grace--that's me. I'm just tucked into my bay window, opening my heart to God and trying to be brave about letting Him use all that He has crafted inside me to His glory.
This entry was posted in Facing Jesus, Spiritual Transformation, The Walk, Uncategorized, Worship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Restablishing the Awe

  1. Gail Harris says:

    beautifully written… thank you

Leave a Reply

