Company in the Boat

This morning, God is using Sarah Young’s  Jesus Calling  to mend my heart and strip away the eroding self- and situation-focused perspective…

“I guarantee that you will always have problems in this life, but they must not become your focus.” SY

How difficult it is to shift my focus. Wired as I am, I perseverate on the hurt, the fear, the self-disappointment.

“When you feel yourself sinking in the sea of circumstances, say ‘Help me, Jesus!’ and I will draw you back to Me.  If you have to say that thousands of times daily, don’t be discouraged. I know your weakness, and I meet you in that very place.” SY

 Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”  Immediately Jesus reached out His hand and caught him.  “You of little faith,” He said, “why did you doubt?”  And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died downMt. 14:28-32

Climb back into the boat with Jesus, and the wind will cease. His Peace and Presence trump the turbulence.

I am wondering, what does it look like, after a rough night, to worship this Man in the boatGalilee fishing boat while He’s sitting on a plank of saturated cedar? How do you worshp while surrounded by creaking and wave-sodden wood, the smell of fish hanging in the air, its stench clinging to the tangle of nets stored in the corners of the vessel that have been  shifted by the tossing of waves? He settles in and brings with His settling His peace and much needed calm. The fourth-watch dawn is either hours away, or just beginning. Exhaustion from a night of restless sleep and wave-watching washes over them. Who hasn’t been there? I’m there, now, and know I have company.

But His hands reaches out, holds me up, casts away my doubt. He climbs into the boat with me.

In all of this: How do you respond to  this human flesh, whose Spirit is God Himself? This is a Man you have seen walking, eating, bathing, praying, teaching, resting, working—all the normal living of humanity, and yet, He’s different. You have witnessed healing and miraculous feeding. What words of praise are sufficient to heave up from your heart and cast upon Him? What gift of acknowledgement and surrender can I offer that is so inadequate to His worth? Who can even think clearly in these moments?

Yet, worship, is what those imperfect and still learning fishermen did. And worship, I do.

“Truly He is the Son of God!”

Today I am praising God for His hand on mine in the storm. For His protection from the wind. For walking me back into the boat and sitting there with me as we rock our way toward the shore, and for bringing His calm in the boat along with Him.

About An Earthen Vessel--Terri Apgar

Wife of one, mother of three, so grateful for God's grace--that's me. I'm just tucked into my bay window, opening my heart to God and trying to be brave about letting Him use all that He has crafted inside me to His glory.
This entry was posted in Deflecting the Weapon of Discouragement, The Walk, Trials, Uncategorized, Worship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Company in the Boat

  1. Pingback: Learning to Expect the Unexpected | An Earthen Vessel

Leave a Reply

