Walking Alongside (aka: I Think I’d Like to be a Zebra)

Have you ever watched pairs of people walking or running together? How about animal pairs in the natural world?  Did you ever wonder why they chose to be together rather than alone?

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/01/04/mutually-beneficial-anima_n_391888.html?slidenumber=PJWWHk52T5w%3D&slideshow#slide_image

Now that I understand them better, I think I’d like to be a zebra or an oxpecker.

Today I am thinking about walking along this life path set before us, and how much Dirt roadsweeter it is and stronger I am when I have someone at my side.  Last night, in a group gathering for our church family, we discussed ways to develop bonds among us so that all of us can experience the sweetness and strength from spiritual companionship.

God, through Paul, calls us to this unifying journey. This journey with Him, toward eternal habitation with Him, is designed to prepare us for His Presence. Its blessings and trials, joys and frustrations, happiness and sorrows are all for our refinement—to bring out the best in us so that we fit wonderfully in our eternal home, as jewels in the crown of the King who made us. Because our Creator knows us perfectly, He has abundantly provided for us so that we complete the journey with success.

So who, exactly, walks with us on this path? Who runs beside us in joy or away from danger? Who stops with us when we stumble and offers balm for our broken hearts, waiting with us until we are ready to walk again?

Jesus walks with us.

“Lo, I am with you always, to the close of the age.” Matthew 28:19

 I will not leave you desolate; I will come to you…I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you. John 14:18

 

His Holy Spirit is inseparable from us.

“I will pray the Father, and He will give you another Counselor, to be with you forever, even the Spirit of truth…for He dwells with you, and will be in you.”  John 14:15-17  He has given us of His own Spirit. 1 John 4:13

The Community of Believers is knit together by God’s love and design to help us.

“…we are to grow up in every way into Him who is the head, into Christ, from whom the whole body, joined and knit together by every joint with which it is supplied, when each part is working properly, makes bodily growth and upbuilds itself in love.”  Ephesians 4:15,16

He has never forsaken us, and indeed, has granted us more than “enough” companionship and encouragement. The questions are, I suppose,

Do we lay hold of it?

Do we offer it?

Do we praise God for it?

Today, and every day, let us remember

We are not alone.

Let us TAKE HOLD of the blessings of God in fellowship.

Let us BE the blessing of God in encouragement.

Two are better than one,
because they have a good return for their labor:
 If either of them falls down,
one can help the other up.
But pity anyone who falls
and has no one to help them up.
 Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm.
But how can one keep warm alone?
 Though one may be overpowered,
two can defend themselves.
A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.

Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 NIV

About An Earthen Vessel--Terri Apgar

Wife of one, mother of three, so grateful for God's grace--that's me. I'm just tucked into my bay window, opening my heart to God and trying to be brave about letting Him use all that He has crafted inside me to His glory.
This entry was posted in One Another, The Walk, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

