We All Need Reminding

This morning my heart is dwelling on reminding, and how much the human heart needs it.

Reminders of how we are loved.

Reminders of how we are forgiven.

Reminders of how we are noticed.

Reminders of the joy, and sacrifice, and from where we get our strength.

100_6712

 

It strikes me how much God, who created our very hearts, completely 

 

understands this about us and provides for this need. His word is woven with richly colored and repeated threads of remembrance–threads of love, Presence, empowerment, victory, care, forgiveness and acceptance. I am constantly in awe of the reminders He has chosen to preserve for us in His written record of love.

But the apostle John has me thinking this morning about another kind of reminding—one not rooted in Truth. A kind of reminding whose persistent, subtle tugging at our hearts would like to drown out Truth.

 

He writes “I write this to you about those who would deceive you…”

John understood that there is always an opposing force trying to deflect God’s holy reminders to our hearts.  To deceive means “to cause to stray, lead aside from the right way, to wander and roam about, to sever or fall away from the truth.” God has always known we need reminders to vanquish the deceit that is tossed our way every day, whose result is a wandering and roaming away from Him.

Just think for a minute, about the lies thrown at us daily…

You’re not good enough.

Without this you are not smart, or beautiful, or strong, or capable, or desirable.

 

Social connection determines your value.

You can’t overcome this rift in your relationship, the hurt runs too deep and too long.

More is better.

Newer is better.

This is too hard—bailing out is the only option.

Success in the workplace is evidenced by arrival at a hierarchy of involvement or power.

Faithfulness and connection to God is determined by  how many projects or committees you’re involved in, who you’re married to and how involved your children are.

 

But God says

“You have been anointed by the Holy One…” 1 Jn. 2:20

“…the anointing which you received from Him abides in you…” 1 Jn. 2:26

Yes, YOU and I have received this anointing!

The basic meaning of the Bible word “anoint” is “to pour on, smear all over or rub into. To be anointed by God is not only to be picked, but also to be empowered by Him for the task or position to which He has called youK. Copeland

I am thinking about that smearing,–that Christ and His love, and the love of the Father is rubbed deeply into my skin, into my bones and muscles, into my heart and mind. It was rubbed with love on the day I was buried with Christ in baptism, and it

changed who I was and the truths that I now own.

Today I am reminded that my value, my power, my success, my conquering over life’s struggle—all of it comes from Him who anointed me and abides with me in a very real way that the Father of Lies does not.  I have no need for the falsehoods to take root because I am

Beloved       1 John 3:2

Capable       Philippians 4:13

Deeply desired       John 3:16Faith cardinals

Strong       Psalm 20:6, 1 John 5:4,5

Forgiven         Psalm 86:5

Never alone     1 John 4:15

Let’s remind each other of these truths daily, with hugs and whispers into ears, with smiles and notes tucked into our hands, with Facebook postings, with e-mails, with unexpected texts and phone calls. With all that we have.

After all, we all need reminding.

About An Earthen Vessel--Terri Apgar

Wife of one, mother of three, so grateful for God's grace--that's me. I'm just tucked into my bay window, opening my heart to God and trying to be brave about letting Him use all that He has crafted inside me to His glory.
This entry was posted in Deflecting the Weapon of Discouragement, The Walk, Trials, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We All Need Reminding

  1. parklinscomb says:

    Excellent thoughts / reminders. Thanks for reminding me. Forgetting such things is so easily done and leaves us so vulnerable to the world’s lies.

    • Thank you for stopping by, Park. You know, it wouldn’t be so bad if those flaming swords of discouragement were only flung once in a lifetime, but it’s the persistent heckling of lies that is exhausting! Here’s to smothering those flames with God’s blessed reminders from the pulpit and the pew to each other!

  2. Pam says:

    Thank you for your words of encouragement and reminders that we are special and unique and fully beloved by the Father. Today, I am also reminded of how blessed I am to have you for a friend. God truly blesses us with family and friends to help us on our journey through this life and to Him now and into eternity. I am reminded through his Word and through your words of how blessed I am.

    • Thank YOU, my dear friend, for your faithful love and friendship over all these years. I truly understand why the apostles use the name “Beloved” so many times for their fellow Christians. You are one of my Beloveds.

  3. Suz says:

    Thank you my sister, for the reminder. I have been guilty of believing one of those lies for so long. Why am I so slow to let go of the lie and so quick to brush off the truth? Once again God has spoken to my heart, through you. I’m so blessed that you are that vessel.

    • The lie list is long, and sucks up so much of our time, spiritual strength, and energy. If we focus wholly on Christ and the truthful, unending love of the Father, we more easily deflect those arrows of discouragement that turn our spirits into lead. Oh, that we would remember to encourage each other this way each day! Love you, Sister!

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

