Dawning Well

It’s New Year’s Eve day. I finally have a few quiet moments and pray that the Lord quietSnow 1 my heart and brain so I can focus on what He says to me today.  I have such a difficult time focusing, moreso in the last year than at any other time. Maybe it’s the last 24+ months of emotional demands with several serious illnesses and family losses, aging parents, a dying father, marrying off our eldest child, and an empty nest. Maybe it’s parenting adult-but still dependent- college-aged children. Maybe it’s the crazy professional demands of curriculum and testing and increased expectations and changing a grade level. Maybe it’s the clichéd but very real physical and emotional adjustment to life after 50.

I don’t really know, but I do have a terrible time staying focused with all the mental clutter. I’m sure the caffeine I have begun to ingest regularly isn’t helping, either.

What I DO know, is that I long to walk calmly through my days. Never to rush. To think clearly and deliberately through all decisions. To love fully and patiently. To daily slip my hand into God’s and by His strength, meet my day and all He places along my path.

In Venezuela, they have a way of greeting each other first thing in the day: ¿Cómo amaneciste? , which means, literally, How did you dawn? How did you greet the day? How did your day begin? Did you sleep well?

I have a way I’d like to be begin each day. I long for every dawn to begin with my hand firmly grasping God’s. I know He’ll be there. He was watching me all night, hand outstretched, covering me with warmth and protection as I sleep.  In the morning, He moves His hand to guide me through my day—His day. Will I be there? I think, yes, how can I not be? How can I “dawn” each day without greeting God in thanks and prayer, without acknowledging the need I have for His direction and strength? A day without Him is a day fraught with empty rushing about—a day without the focus my soul craves.

So in this year of how ever many new beginnings God grants me, I am determined to dawn well and in His company. When I awaken, before I stir and separate from the cozy quiltedwarmth, even before I open my eyes, I will reassure myself of His abiding presence that He’s promised me and relinquish all of my day to Him. My work to Him. My marriage to Him.  My parenting to Him. All social contact. All daily chores. All ‘have-tos’ and ‘want-tos’ and ‘don’t want tos”. All the hard,  and even the easy stuff.

100_2487

What a glorious way to begin each day! I’m pretty sure the mental clutter will clear by His power and might. I’m counting on it. I know He will use me to prioritize and make progress, and I am confident this earthen vessel will be put to use for His purposes. My soul will be at peace knowing I lived out the days in His will.

For someone who doesn’t make a habit of making resolutions for each New Year, I think I just did.

I’ll let you know how it goes, if you stop by and ask. I’m counting on your encouragement for the days I don’t dawn well, and I am already thankful for those when you gently take my hand and place it firmly back where it belongs, in the hand of our Father.  Don’t be surprised, when I see you, either face to face or in our cyber meeting rooms, if I ask you how you dawned the day. If your hand has slipped, you can count on me to help you place it back in the palm of the One who loves you most.

…I am in my Father and you in Me, and I in you.  He who has my commandments and keeps them, he it is who loves me, and He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and manifest myself to him.  If a man loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with Him  John 14:20ff

O Lord, in the morning thou dost hear my voice; in the morning I prepare a sacrifice for Thee and watch.  Psalm 5:3

Let us watch together and see what happens…

Happy New Year

About An Earthen Vessel--Terri Apgar

Wife of one, mother of three, so grateful for God's grace--that's me. I'm just tucked into my bay window, opening my heart to God and trying to be brave about letting Him use all that He has crafted inside me to His glory.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Transformation, The Walk, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dawning Well

  1. Gail Peterson Hummel says:

    What a wonderful phrase!! : Dawn well!!!
    And, I will keep this in mind when I dawn each day.
    I am happy to say, even before reading this blog, that I have dawned more positively than I have in a while.

Leave a Reply

