A Summer of Facing Jesus: Revealing God to the World

I’m seeing Jesus today while walking with Casandra Martin. She has us in John 12:44,45. “He who believes in me, believes not in me but in him who sent me.  And he who sees me sees him who sent me.” I find myself reminded again, of the pure and consistent humility of Jesus. Look here with me:

“He who has seen me has seen the Father…Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father in me?…the Father who dwells in me does His works. Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father in me.” He is so wholly unified with God. Oh to be like Jesus in this regard!

Even in the raising of Lazarus, Jesus does not say, “I can do this for you!” but, rather, “if you would believe you would see the glory of God?”

How many times does Jesus deflect honor and praise from Himself in the midst of astounding acts of service and power, and return it to the Father where it rightly belongs? I can’t find or count them right now, but I know the real answer: Every time.

At first glance, because Jesus is so very different from us, and special and holy Himself, it seems odd that praise should be shifted away from Him. We know and acknowledge His holiness and power. He deserves our praise. But notice, He always takes the gratitude, the glory, and the honor and hands it over to the Source of all– His and our Father, the God of Heaven and Earth.

Living in me today, these scriptures bring to mind a current project—making my daughter’s wedding dress. (Yes, I agreed to this willingly, crazy woman that I am. And every stitch is a love offering to her. The process is a whole other journey-story for another day!)

This week my wonderful ‘dress coach’ was going on about what a good job I’ve done (I’m almost finished!!!), and how I’ll be so proud of it and people will think what a good

seamstress I am, etc. Aside from the complete cringing I felt inside, since I see mostly the faults, there were two thoughts that came to my mind:

#1. This dress is not about me, it’s about my daughter and making her look and feel beautiful on her special day.

#2. I don’t want anything I do to bring attention to me or make self-centered pride grow. That is such a dangerous heart-place to live in. How can I, whenever these situations come up (in teaching, quilting, singing, cooking, counseling…whatever life services I engage in), like Jesus, return all glory and honor to God? He is the One whose love of people, color, music and beauty shines through me, and enables me and others to reflect these characteristics of Him through what I do and say.

Can I say, like Jesus, “It is the Father who dwells in me that does His works?  It is by His hand that I create and serve and encourage. It is Him showing His good character of love and joy and forgiveness as I parent and live as a wife, sister, daughter, coworker, friend.” Yes, I can. That’s what the Spirit is challenging me to do today and every day.  Satan will wield his tool of Pride will try to prevent this, so I must be prepared.

Let me know how you honor God and reveal His character to the world as Jesus did. And let’s keep looking at the Son to see Him!

About An Earthen Vessel--Terri Apgar

Wife of one, mother of three, so grateful for God's grace--that's me. I'm just tucked into my bay window, opening my heart to God and trying to be brave about letting Him use all that He has crafted inside me to His glory.
This entry was posted in Facing Jesus, The Walk, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Summer of Facing Jesus: Revealing God to the World

  1. SANDY says:

    Love this, don’t stop. Today I honored God by going to get him at the hospital and bring him home. I will also say that I did not like the fact that he was in the hospital and I could not be with him more, but our grand daughter is here so I was very torn. He is home now and I feel a whole lot better. God is so good!!!!

  2. Pingback: What is God’s new plan for us? « Michael Wilson's Blog

  3. Pingback: What is God’s new plan for us? | Quotes, thoughts and musings

Leave a Reply

