When a Heart Needs Reminding

This morning, bathed in spring sunshine streaming in from the bay window, I am pondering the Easter story. In the corner sits a beautiful lily, whose white trumpets seem to herald the resurrection joy in every moment. I am reminded here, of what is always the Good News.

I wander through the pages, reliving each moment, with Mark, and with Luke. What can it have been like, to be there in the very moment of recognition (Luke 24:31), that Jesus was, is indeed, the Messiah–the bringer of Hope, and Forgiveness, and Healing of Relationship? The Balm that smooths over all our inevitable rough humanness. Surely, it was a wonderful moment.

It IS a wonderful moment, when He opens my eyes, and I recognize Him anew.

It is always a sweetness to my soul to remind myself of my redemption story. Fingering the worn grooves of the familiar grounds me. It cuts away the doing, the distraction—all that keeps me tethered to this earth, and lifts my heart again to Who claims me, and that wondrous deed of love.

We buried my earthly father this week, and I have been blessed in all of that. There is an abundance of heart-teaching that my Heavenly Father provided throughout, and when I can sort it all out, I will share. For today, however, the one lesson I savor is this:

We borrow a shell to live out the temporary. Our bodies, and our lives, are just, shall we say, leased for fleeting use.

I praise God, our Father, today, that there is more. There is Hope, and Healing, and great Fellowship to be had in the presence of God. I praise Him with a heart of joy, that in that first Easter moment, He changed everything!

Will you ponder the reminders with me today? Will you prepare your heart’s altar for tomorrow’s communion and praise?

The Lord has risen indeed!  Luke 24:34

Thus it is written, that the Christ should suffer and on the third day rise from the dead, and that repentance and forgiveness of sins should be preached in His name to all nations.  Luke 24:46

Psalm 68:3,4  Let the righteous be joyful; let them exult before God; let them be jubilant with joy!  Sing to God, sing praises to His name; lift up a song to him who rides upon the clouds;  his name is the Lord, exult before him!

About An Earthen Vessel--Terri Apgar

Wife of one, mother of three, so grateful for God's grace--that's me. I'm just tucked into my bay window, opening my heart to God and trying to be brave about letting Him use all that He has crafted inside me to His glory.
This entry was posted in Counting Joy, Easter, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

