I Want to Be a Sheep

I just want to be a sheep. I’m not particular about the color of my wool, or the length of my locks. I just want to be a sheep.

I want to be a sheep who knows her Shepherd because a lifetime of following has made me confident of His wisdom, secure in His protection, trusting of the path He chooses.

I want to be content with the purity and simplicity of nourishment He provides, like the verdant grass and crystal water.  I will be satisfied wholly with the daily, unchanging sustenance  I find when I seek out the life-giving tufts of ancient words hidden among the holy pages.

I want to be a humble, trusting follower that clings to my Shepherd’s side. One who understands the dangers outside the protected pasture and does not stray.

The sheep I want to be is secure in the flock, finding strength in numbers of those that also faithfully cling to the One who sets the path and the changing of pasture.

I want to be the sheep that gives up without complaint or hesitation my time, my talents, my plans, my work, my parenting, my friendships, my words and my life. That sheep does not utter a bleat of protest, but one who trusts in the Shepherd’s plan.

I just want to be a sheep led beside still waters, not hurry-scurry, overflowing tributaries that never rest to reflect the Shepherd’s face.

I just want to be a sheep.

The LORD is my shepherd, I lack nothing.  He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters, he refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake.  Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. Psalm 23:1-4 NIV 2011

The one who enters by the gate is the shepherd of the sheep. The gatekeeper opens the gate for him, and the sheep listen to his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice. But they will never follow a stranger; in fact, they will run away from him because they do not recognize a stranger’s voice. John 10:2-5  NIV 2011

“I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me— just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep.” John 10:14,15 NIV 2011

About An Earthen Vessel--Terri Apgar

Wife of one, mother of three, so grateful for God's grace--that's me. I'm just tucked into my bay window, opening my heart to God and trying to be brave about letting Him use all that He has crafted inside me to His glory.
This entry was posted in The Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Want to Be a Sheep

  1. Lynn Maire says:

    I want to be a sheep as well, I want to hear his voice and touch his face and rest in his shadow. So well put today.

  2. Pingback: Tending the Flock 051411 « Mennonite Preacher

Leave a Reply

