The Days When our Hearts Flood

Some days the flood waters rise–uninvited, sometimes unexpected, always unwelcome and acknowledged with despair. They rise– the tides of discouragement, impatience, frustration, dissatisfaction. Powered by the enemy, they threaten to erode the shores of hope and strength built in all the yesterdays. He prowls, that weapon wielding liar, aiming at the soft spots and the places I’ve left, thinking them finished and protected.

His lies? You can’t. This matters. You need this.  You’re stuck. He, or she, or this will never change. It’s not happening fast enough.

There are moments, days even, that while my heart stands firm in the truth of constant Presence, it wrestles with the feelings of solitude. What I know becomes different from what I feel, and it’s the feeling that rocks me inside.

Some days I just cannot get away from myself–my ruminating, pinball-bouncing head full of thoughts that tear at the walls of peace and faith. I scramble from one activity to the next, one thought to the next, never quite settling or finishing what I started, overwhelmed by all I see that needs to be done or wants to be done—or never will be done–the result of a lifetime of choices and passed opportunities.

But each new day grants a new beginning, each moment a fresh start. Like a parent who places their hands on either side of their child’s face and gently turns it to look in the better direction, my Father reminds me of what to do when my heart grows heavy and my skin prickles with irritation at every turn, when I long for change and it’s slow in coming.

Praise Me.

Trust Me.

Walk by My Side. John 15

Talk of Me all day long– to your family, to your friends, to everyone, to no one, to yourself. Psalm 66:5-12

Speak of my righteous help. Praise Me with a song, in your heart and on your lips. Psalm 71:19-24

Set your mind on things above. Colossians 3:2-4

Magnify me, let your spirit rejoice!  Luke 1:46

Remember the hope that is within you.  1 Peter 1:3-9

Praise Me.

Trust Me.

That is how the tides recede, the storm clouds scatter. It is how the waves roll back.

 And the shore is still there, and my feet are firmly planted, and I am not alone.

May today and  all our days be spent firmly rooted on the shore with the Master of storms and seas.

“Then He rose and rebuked the winds and the sea; and there was great calm. And the men marveled, saying, ‘What sort of man is this, that even winds and sea obey Him?’” Matthew 8:26, 27

About An Earthen Vessel--Terri Apgar

Wife of one, mother of three, so grateful for God's grace--that's me. I'm just tucked into my bay window, opening my heart to God and trying to be brave about letting Him use all that He has crafted inside me to His glory.
This entry was posted in Deflecting the Weapon of Discouragement, The Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Days When our Hearts Flood

  1. Kim D says:

    I know these days all too well and have heard the Spirit speak these reminders to me. I am thankful for you in my life, sister.

  2. LynnMarie says:

    I too have had those days of seeing the world around me and becoming discouraged instead of seeing God around me and becoming encouraged. Thank you for your words as a gentle reminder. You are a blessing to me. I’m glad you are my sister.

  3. Bill F. says:

    “May today and all our days be spent firmly rooted on the shore with the Master of storm and seas.”

    A big, hearty Amen to ‘dat! An old Imperials song (led by Russ Taff) called, “Praise the Lord” starts off–

    “When you’re up against a struggle that shatters all your dreams,
    And your hopes have been cruelly crushed by Satan’s manifested schemes,
    And you feel the urge within you to submit to earthly fear,
    Don’t let the faith you’re standing in– seem to disappear–

    Praise the Lord– He can work through those who praise Him- praise the Lord,
    For our God inhabits praise- praise the Lord- for the chains that seem to bind you
    Serve only to remind you that they drop powerless behind you when you praise him!

Leave a Reply

