You Will Not Slip

The first blizzard has passed, and almost assuredly, more will come.  With Winter’s arrival, a frosty sheen lays upon many surfaces, and I become less sure-footed, more tentative in my travels.

Today I am back in Psalm  66—A Psalm of Thanksgiving-pondering the Psalmist’s choice of words in describing how God moves and works in our lives for His good purposes:

Bless our God…who has kept us among the living, and has not let our feet slip.”

I wonder at God’s intent, as through the psalmist He inserts this assurance following a rich list of blessings and deliverances, and just before he makes the statement “For you, O God, tested us; you refined us like silver.  You brought us into prison and laid burdens on our backs.  You let men ride over our heads; we went through fire and water.”

How can these two truths coexist? Looking carefully, I see it in my life, in the life of others, this intertwined journey of ups and downs.

I wonder at Him as He adds “Yet thou hast brought us forth to a reveyaha spacious place of saturation, run over, abundance.

What I am thinking is that the occurrence of storms, of trials, of adversity and of tragedy is not having our feet slip. Strained relationships, tough decisions, closed doors…they feel like slipping. They look like slipping.  But God, the God of Yes! to His promises will not let our feet slip,

                                                       so it cannot be that we are slipping.

As always, I turn to the words God chooses, to draw close and to understand. I arrive at slip, in His ancient, Spirit-breathed words …mowt… to totter, shake, to be shaken, be moved, be overthrown to dislodge, let fall,

                                                                                  drop.

How often do we feel shaken, dislodged- like  we’re tottering over an edge? When health fails, relationships strain,  pathways shift, finances drain, churches tremble?

I sometimes feel shaken, unsure, certain that it’s all wrong…and in it, I’m all wrong.

As a parent, every moment of challenge and dissention feels like I’m slipping. As a wife, every miscommunication, period of staleness or disunity undoes me.  Every time I misspeak, or choose a path whose consequences cause hurt or multiply the confusion, I can feel my confidence ebb and my grip on what I thought was right become unsure. Like pebbles shaken loose on a mountainside, my perceptions of what I thought should happen –how events should move and how I should move within them-are tossed aside. And looking over the edge at them, I’m left tentative and wondering…what next?

But the psalmist understood a critical truth– that truth is that God doesn’t allow us to slip.

To slip where? Down,

                                         away,

                                                           out of His reach,

                                                                                          out of His grasp

He always has us firmly in hand. And He always returns us to abundance–maybe not restoration of what was before, maybe not in a physical manner, but abundance–abundant grace, security, love, strength, and forever salvation. Verse 20 says it all: Blessed be God, because He has not rejected my prayer or removed His steadfast love from me.

Remembering this…living this…changes everything.

Will it be fire for me today? If not today, will it come tomorrow?

In the middle of dashed dreams and disappointments, of disease and strained relationships, among abrupt turns or obstacles in the road of life, I can move forward with hope–assurance–that the journey is survivable and worth it .

For all the promises of God find their Yes in Him. 2 Corinthians 1:20

About An Earthen Vessel--Terri Apgar

Wife of one, mother of three, so grateful for God's grace--that's me. I'm just tucked into my bay window, opening my heart to God and trying to be brave about letting Him use all that He has crafted inside me to His glory.
This entry was posted in The Walk, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to You Will Not Slip

  1. Suz says:

    Thank you sister, for revealing Immanuel to me today. I have been tottering on the edge and needed to be reminded of whose hand I am in.
    “From every evil shall He keep thy soul, from every sin;
    Jehovah shall preserve thy going out, thy coming in.
    Above thee watching, He Whom we adore
    Shall keep thee henceforth, yea, forevermore.”

  2. Diane says:

    Thank you for that much-needed insight.

    • You were one of severalspecial onesthatwere in my heart while writing. So glad to get your holiday letter and discover your new path! I will look forward to updates on how God holds your hand over the coming year. 🙂

  3. Theresa Gagnon Winstead says:

    One of my favorite verses is Deut. 31:6, where it says, “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you”. Even when I am floundering and feel lost, or like I’m slipping away, God never leaves me. I may break or forget my promises, but He never does. How can I deserve to have God as my Father? How blessed we are.

  4. LynnMarie says:

    I am reminded that God’s plans for me are for my good not for evil. I need to be reminded daily that he is walking with me as I go through my day. He is a part of my sleeping dreams and waking days. No mater what my day brings His words stay with me. Thank you for putting my feelings into such a beautiful post. You are so talented.

  5. My heart is full, that you all have come to visit, and responded. I am smiling, inside and out, with gratitude that God brings us together and provides ever-new ways for us to encourage and grow each other. My prayer is that this place, these words, be a tool of His, and not be about the author, but always about the Author and Perfector of our faith. Thank you all, for your encouragment, and the time you spent with me today.

Leave a Reply

