A Spirit of Thankfulness

The day is past, though crumbs and remnants still linger as reminders of blessed abundance. I am called today, by the heart of Psalter, to reflect and continue with a heart bowed in gratitude.

 

Psalm 136 Give thanks to the Lord, for his steadfast love endures forever.

I once prayed

For a husband, and I wake up each morning next to him, married for more than 24 years

For children, and three demonstrations of His love are a forever part of me

For a job for my husband, and he is employed

For health, and I thrive

For forgiveness, and His sweet words daily remind me of this gift

For safety in travel, and we’re all arrived, and safe and have journeyed countless times

For strength to get through, and I’m on the other side now

For wisdom in nurturing body and soul, and they are growing tall and strong and faithful. 

For employment and I am working

For the protection of sound body for others, and so many are well.

For His will to be done, and it is. Always and forever.

Give thanks to the Lord, for his steadfast love endures forever.

Not one day, not only before meals, or in the holy act of corporate worship.

Not only when asked or scheduled,

But without ceasing.

The duty we are here again and again called to is to give thanks, to offer the sacrifice of praise continually, not the fruits of our ground or cattle, but the fruit of our lips, giving thanks to his name, Heb. 13:15. We must give thanks to God for his goodness and mercy. Give thanks to the Lord, not only because he does good, but because he is good (all the streams must be traced up to the fountain).  Matthew Henry

Thank you, Lord, for Who you are, for your steadfast love

That endures

Forever.

Not only on the day of Thanksgiving, but the months and weeks, and days, and moments after.

For the large and the small.

In all things, give thanks (1 Thess. 5:17)

So here, on the day after, I am thankful for (#31-38)

The ice encrusted branches, shimmery and still

A forsythia blossom, in November!

Unexpected reminders of God's love in the storms

 

A year free of cancer for my life partner

Gentle snores of rescued pup

Quiet haven of sturdy house

Warmth

Time

Rest

The steadfast love of the Keeper of my Soul.

About An Earthen Vessel--Terri Apgar

Wife of one, mother of three, so grateful for God's grace--that's me. I'm just tucked into my bay window, opening my heart to God and trying to be brave about letting Him use all that He has crafted inside me to His glory.
This entry was posted in Gratitude. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Spirit of Thankfulness

  1. Sue Bell says:

    Beautiful pictures. And thank you for the reminders.

Leave a Reply

